Spam from Macromedia in IE drop-down menu? [Archive] - Racerplanet Network Forums

View Full Version : Spam from Macromedia in IE drop-down menu?


Frank N. O.
12-24-2005, 10:54 PM
Several sites now have me seeing the yellow drop-down install menu for download content, but two things falls into the catagory: Things that make you go hmmm.

1. The exact text reads:
This site might require the following ActiveX control: 'Macromedia Flash Player 8' from 'Macromedia, Inc.'. Click here to install...

2. I already have their player installed, however that's #5, and the site I get it on do not even use flash, like these forums for instance.
After going to the another page then I get another variant btw:
The previous site might require the following ActiveX control: 'Macromedia Flash Player 8' from 'Macromedia, Inc.'. Click here to install...

Weird huh? I got a screenshot of the later pop-down if it could be a help.

There's a blue MS Safety shield with a white ?-mark to the far left in the menu btw.

Frank

chris
12-26-2005, 01:40 AM
If anything I'd download Flash player addons from www.macromedia.com directly rather than auto-installling them.

But yes, Flash Player 8 is here, because indeed the whole Macromedia Studio 8 package has arrived.

Edit: WOAH! What the heck! Why do I see Adobe name taking over the Macromedia site.. Yes we all love Adobe, but please, let Macromedia products be Mr Adobe.

Frank N. O.
12-26-2005, 01:42 AM
Ah, thank you for the information, I'll do that :wave:

Edit: Yeah I noticed that too, and one place also had the Yahoo browser-bar set to be installed too, one thing I'm trying to get uninstalled and I'm using HijackThis to get it done and check the rest.

Frank